Skip to content
STARTS Prize Trophy by Nick Ervinck. Credit: Peter Verplancke

STARTS Prize of the European Commission: Submissions open

  • by

STARTS Prize Trophy by Nick Ervinck. Credit: Peter Verplancke

Science, Technology & Arts – STARTS

Entries for the STARTS Prize of the European Commission

(Linz/Brussels, 11 January, 2021) As of today, scientists, technologists, artists, institutions, labs and companies are invited once again to submit their best projects for the STARTS Prize 2021 of the European Commission. Entries should be ground-breaking works at the intersection of science, technology and art that contribute to scientific and societal innovation. In addition to the coveted STARTS Trophies, winners can look forward to monetary awards of 20,000 euros each and appearances at the Ars Electronica Festival next September in Linz, BOZAR in Brussels, Waag in Amsterdam and various other events held by partner institutions. There is no fee to enter the competition.

Submissions will be accepted until 3 March at The STARTS Prize 2021 is promoted and carried out by Ars Electronica, BOZAR, Waag and, for the first time, La French Tech Grande Provence, INOVA+, T6 Ecosystems SRL and the Frankfurt Book Fair. The competition is part of the STARTS Initiative of the European Commission.

Science, Technology, and the ARTS: STARTS

The STARTS Prize, which comes with two generous awards of 20,000 euros each, is part of the STARTS initiative of the European Union. The annual competition showcases innovative projects at the intersection of art, technology and science with the potential to contribute to economic and societal innovation. Both prizes emphasize creative use of technologies and the search for unique cooperative partnerships in STARTS-related fields.

From a controller for smart home systems to a 3D-printed steel bridge

The projects that have won awards since 2016 demonstrate the wide variety of work submitted to the STARTS Prize: from a 3D-printed steel bridge in Amsterdam, to a controller for smart home devices, to decomposition products integrated into design processes. Previous winners of the STARTS Prize include the Artificial Skins and Bones Group, Iris van Herpen, Gramazio Kohler Research, ETH Zurich and the Self-Assembly Lab at MIT, Etsuko Yakushimaru, MX3D & Joris Laarman Lab, Giulia Tomasello, 300.000 Km/s, Bjørn Karmann and Tore Knudsen, and Andrea Ling and Olga Kisseleva.

The STARTS Initiative of the European Commission

New partners this year

Until now, the STARTS prize has been managed by Ars Electronica, BOZAR and Waag, but new partners are on board for 2021: La French Tech Grande Provence, a French tech regional hub from Avignon; INOVA+, a leading Portuguese company for promotion, management, innovation, research and technological development; the consulting and research company T6 Ecosystems SRL, and the Frankfurt Book Fair.

European Commission:
STARTS Initiative:
Ars Electronica:

La French Tech Grande Provence:
T6 Ecosystems SRL:
Frankfurt Book Fair:

January 11, 2021Submission phase for the STARTS Prize 2021 starts
Entry deadlineMarch 3, 2021
April 23-25, 2021Jury Meeting
Mid-June, 2021Announcement of winners
September 8-12, 2021Exhibition and talks at Ars Electronica Festival
September 25 – October 24, 2021Exhibition at BOZAR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Exit mobile version